top of page

Bruises When We Fall


I could say it in my sleep:

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart

and lean not on your own understanding;

in all your ways acknowledge him,

and he will make your paths straight.”

My favorite verse in the Bible is Proverbs 3, verses 5 and 6. Until recently, if you had asked me to tell you anything about chapter 3, or the surrounding verses, I would have come up short. I was convicted as I read on, and the Lord gently reminded me that the context of “popular” verses like this one is key in truly understanding what the Lord wants to teach us through His Word. The following verses to 5 and 6 are:

“Do not be wise in your own eyes;

fear the LORD and shun evil.

This will bring health to your body

and nourishment to your bones.”

What a sobering reminder that we can say all the “right” things, and do all the “right” things, but still be “wise” in our own eyes, not truly seeking Christ.  This brought me to another sobering reminder, that

pursuing the Lord and trusting Him with my mind is

what brings health and nourishment to my body.

I spend a lot of time reading and studying about health, fitness, food. I try to fill my body with nourishing foods, and go to great lengths to make healthy choices, but I don’t spend nearly enough time in the Word. I have found myself feeling pride in the fact that I have a growing knowledge of these things, but what good is it if I am leaning on my own understanding?

If my mind is weak feeding off of my own ambitions, and trusting in my own knowledge (which is PUNY compared to Gods), my body will waste away.

Have you ever struggled with depression?

I have. And I have many dear friends and family who do. I’ve seen it and felt it enough to know that when the mind is consumed with doubt, sorrow, pain, anger, fear, worry, sin, and selfishness, the physical body suffers.

For when I kept silent, my bones wasted away

through my groaning all day long.

For day and night your hand was heavy upon me;

my strength was dried up as by the heat of summer.

This isn’t to say that health, wealth, and prosperity will follow those who do A, B, and C correctly. The scriptures are full of examples of our capacity for the highest of highs, and the lowest of lows.

We will get sick.

We will have seasons, often long seasons of doubt and depression.

We are meant to wrestle with our faith and feel the

bruises when we fall….

but then, dear sisters, we are CALLED to trust Him….and to experience the

PEACE of God which surpasses all understanding.

I pray that this post points you toward that peace today!

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page